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Social Media Management

Top Social Media KPIs for Enterprises in 2025

January 2, 202511 MIN READ

A social media KPI (key performance indicator) is a yardstick to measure the success of your social media strategy. Say you're in charge of a healthcare brand’s social media and you're using X (formerly Twitter) as your primary channel to drive traffic.

Let’s say your goal is to increase the engagement of your Tweets by 50% over the next quarter. That's your social media KPI now. It's specific — you're not just shooting in the dark and hoping for improved engagement, your target is fixed — a solid 50% engagement boost. And how do you know you’ve achieved your goal? You measure your progress by tracking likes, shares, and comments on your X page.

But the key to choosing your social media KPIs is aligning them closely with your specific social media goals. This way, you'll ensure your efforts are focused and purposeful, thereby achieving your desired outcomes quickly.

But how do you identify the critical social media KPIs for your brand? Let's get into it.

Why tracking social media KPIs matters

Organizations need to measure the effectiveness of their social media efforts to understand what went well, what they need to improve on, and what they need to stop doing. Measuring KPIs allows them to:

Prevent resource and time wastage

Tracking relevant social media KPIs surfaces emerging market shifts and consumer trends, enabling you to direct your marketing efforts and budgets judiciously. For instance, social media marketing statistics reveal that consumers find user generated content 9.8 times more impactful than influencer content during the purchase stage. Armed with this intel, you are in a position to defend investments in UGC marketing and minimize budget wastage

Pinpoint the high-priority actions

Social media monitoring and KPI tracking can reveal priority of actions depending on customer engagement. In case of a brand crisis, for instance, tracking customer sentiment can help take swift action with a public apology and if you send personalized responses, it can also mitigate the negative impact on brand reputation.

Increase the chance of successful strategy and ROI

Consistent monitoring of key KPIs can help predict customer behavior, create data-driven social media campaigns and clearly measure its financial impact.

For instance, knowing which social media platform has the highest ROI for ad campaigns can help marketers make strategic decisions on ad spend.

💡Pro tip 

Tracking social media KPIs can help you cut through the clutter and find key areas that truly matter for your brand’s success, be it brand awareness, social media ROI or relationship management. An extensive social media audit will tell you the best areas to spend your money and time, giving you a clear ROI-driven strategy. 

Top social media KPIs that enterprises need to track

1. Engagement rate

Engagement rate is a metric that measures the level of interaction on your content from your followers. It computes the percentage of total engagement (likes, comments, shares etc.) on your content and campaigns compared to the total number of followers or impressions.

❓How to track:

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Say a post garners 100 likes, 75 comments and 25 shares from 10,000 followers on your account, the engagement rate on the post will be (200 / 10,000) × 100 = 2%.

In-platform analytics tools like Instagram Insights or LinkedIn Analytics gather data on engagement. Alternatively, you can use a unified social media analytics and reporting tool like Sprinklr to track metrics across 30+ social and digital platforms in one place. Track outbound post details, total engagements, likes and reactions per post across all channels, clicks and reach. You can also get breakdown details of engagement by channel as well as times when engagement was high.

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👉Also read: How to Choose the Right Enterprise Social Media Tool

Good to know: 

As Jane Smith, CMO of Microsoft, notes, "Understanding our social media metrics has been pivotal in driving our engagement and ROI." She recalls a significant turning point when analyzing customer sentiment revealed a growing interest in AI-driven solutions. "This insight led us to create targeted content around our AI innovations, which not only increased engagement but also positioned us as leaders in the tech space," she explains.  

For global enterprises like Microsoft, focusing on social media KPIs such as engagement rate, social customer service, ROI and sentiment analysis paves the way to transformative business intelligence and competitive advantage. Read the full story here

2. Reach and impressions

Reach and impressions are critical social media KPIs that indicate content exposure across a platform. Often, the two are confused.

Reach is the number of unique social media users who have seen your post. It measures how many distinct individuals have been exposed to your post, without counting additional views by the same person. Reach highlights the potential impact and spread of your content.

Impressions track the total number of times a post is displayed on users' feeds, irrespective of whether it was clicked on or not. Impressions track multiple views by the same user and help gauge content effectiveness.

❓ How to track:

Reach = Total unique views of your content.

Impressions = Total views of your content including multiple views by the same user.

In-platform analytics [like Facebook Insights, Instagram Insights etc.] or third-party analytics analytical tools can reveal deep engagement insights. And if you want to go a step further, use a unified platform like Sprinklr for:

· Comparing reach by media type

· AI-powered strategy adjustment recommendations

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3. Follower growth rate

Follower growth rate is the rate or pace at which a brand gets new followers or subscribers on its social media account. It indicates increased popularity and brand awareness as well as an effective social media content strategy.

❓ How to track:

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Say you start the month with 1,000 followers on Instagram and add 150 new followers by the end of the month, your follower growth rate would be [150 / 1,000) × 100] = 15%.

Sophisticated social media tools can help you go one step deeper by looking at follower change for a specific period, like after ad or influencer campaigns.

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Case Study 

How Boston University Boosted Engagement, Followership and Brand Image 

Boston University (BU) wanted to share the successes of its students and faculty with the world by leveraging social media to reach a diverse audience. For this, it needed efficient processes to manage social media, measure success and address reputational risks. 
 
Solution: BU implemented Sprinklr’s Social Listening & Social Engagement tools to monitor relevant topics, track alumni achievements and engage audiences across multiple platforms.  Setting up automated alerts helped them to manage potential issues, while the software streamlined publishing and engagement efforts. 

Impact: 

  • 1M new followers across social channels 
  • 27% increase in engagement on targeted initiatives 
  • 150K+ total Facebook engagements 
  • Improved social media presence, engagement, and online reputation management 

Read the full story here.  

Want to replicate BU’s success?  

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4. ROI

Social media ROI measures the profitability and effectiveness of your social media spend compared to the investment you made. It tells you whether the money and time spent on social media marketing generated the intended results in terms of sales attributable to social media leads or other measurable business gains.

❓ How to track:

Tracking social media ROI requires measuring profit against total investment in social media. Total investment in social media includes money spent on paid ads, staff salaries, tools and content creation. Here is the formula:

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Want 327% ROI on Your Social Media Efforts? 

The Forrester Consulting Total Economic Impact™ (TEI) Report of Sprinklr Social examined how deploying this tool would impact ROI for enterprises. It found that using Sprinklr Social could boost ROI for customers by 327%. 

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5. Click-through rate

Click-through rate (CTR) is the percentage of users who click on a link on your social media post that leads them to your landing page, website or product page. A higher CTR means that your content resonates with users and drives them to take the intended action.

❓ How to track:

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Suppose your social media post received 500 clicks and 10,000 impressions, then

CTR = (500 / 10,000) × 100 = 5%, indicating a strong level of interest.

A unified social platform can help you go beyond standard click-through dashboards to show advanced analytics such as bot vs. non-bot clicks or click count trend during specific periods.

6. Social mentions

Social mentions refers to the number of times your brand, product or a relevant keyword/hashtag is mentioned on social media via posts, comments, replies, shares and tweets. This can be a direct tag (@brandname) or an implied mention in the text.

❓ How to track:

Some platforms like Instagram provide features to track brand mentions in a business account. However, third-party tools provide more advanced features. For instance, with Sprinklr’s social media monitoring tool, you can track your brand’s mentions on various social platforms with or without tags. You can also track specific keywords and phrases, monitor sentiment, track frequency and understand the context of mentions for competitors.

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7. Share of voice

Share of voice (SOV) is a social media KPI that calculates a brand's visibility compared to competitors on social platforms. It is computed as a percentage of total brand mentions or discussions compared to the overall industry. SOV is a precursor to your brand’s visibility, awareness, competitive standing and market positioning.

❓ How to track:

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Native analytics tools typically give mentions volumes but you will have to calculate SOV yourself. Instead, third-party social media tools are better suited for detailed results.

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8. Bounce rate

Bounce rate is the percentage of users who click on a link in your social media post but leave without taking intended action like making a purchase or signing up for your event/demo/service. A high bounce rate indicates irrelevant landing page content, misleading links, mistargeting or poor user experience.

❓ How to track:

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While native analytics for tracking bounce rate is limited, you can integrate third-party tools with native analytics to track social media bounce rates.

9. Lead generation rate

Lead generation rate is a measure that estimates how effective your social media campaigns are in generating new leads or potential customers. It calculates what percentage of people complete a call to action after engaging with your social media posts, like filling out a form, subscribing or requesting a demo.

❓ How to track:

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If you get 10 leads from 500 clicks on your post, then,

Lead generation rate = (10 / 500) x 100 = 2%

Some ways to track leads include built-in platform tools like Facebook’s Lead Ads, tracking ad pixels or using integrated tools like Sprinklr.

👉 Additional read: 10 Social Media Lead Generation Tactics with Examples

10. Retention rate

Retention rate is a KPI on social media that tells you the percentage of existing customers or followers who engage with your brand on social media over a certain period of time. It helps gauge audience loyalty and the effectiveness of your social media strategy to keep them engaged.

❓ How to track:

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For instance, if you had 1,000 followers at the start of the month, gained 200 new followers and ended the month with 1,150 followers, then,

Retention rate = [(1150-200)/1000] x 100 = 95%

You can use native analytics or third-party social media tools to track retention.

11. Cost metrics

Cost metrics for social media are important to track because they help understand the financial impact of your social media campaigns. Some of the major ones to keep up with are”

  • Cost per click

Cost per click (CPC) is a metric that measures the amount an advertiser pays each time a user clicks on their ad. It is a crucial metric for evaluating the efficiency and cost-effectiveness of social media advertising campaigns.

❓ How to track:

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  • Cost per lead

Cost per lead (CPL) measures the cost incurred to acquire a lead, which is a potential customer who showed interest in your ad campaign by providing their contact information. Leads are more valuable than clicks because they represent potential customers who have expressed interest in your product or service.

❓ How to track:

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  • Return on ad spend

Return on ad spend (ROAS) is a social media KPI that tells you how much revenue is generated per dollar spent on social media advertising. It is used to evaluate the effectiveness and profitability of social media ads.

❓ How to track:

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Content-specific social media KPIs

Different social media content formats have their own set of KPIs relevant to success. For instance, tracking likes or shares makes sense for image-based posts while views or watch time make sense for videos.

Videos

  1. View count: Measures the number of times your video has been watched, indicating the reach and popularity of your video content. 
  2. Watch time: Represents the total time users have spent watching your video, giving insight into how engaging and compelling the video is. 
  3. Video completion rate: Tracks the percentage of viewers who watched your video in its entirety, helping evaluate the effectiveness of your video content in holding attention. 

👉 Helpful read: 50+ Social Media Video Statistics

Carousels

  1. Swipe-through rate: Measures how many users swipe through all the slides in a carousel, indicating the level of interest in the content. 
  2. Engagement rate: The percentage of interactions (likes, comments, shares) relative to the total views or followers for a carousel post, helping measure the overall engagement. 

Text-based posts (status updates, tweets, captions)

  1. Impressions: Tracks how many times the text-based post appears on users’ feeds, helping measure the visibility and reach of the post. 
  2. Shares: Represents how often your post is shared by others, indicating the virality and impact of your text content. 

Interactive content (polls and quizzes)

  1. Response rate: Measures how many people participated in the poll or quiz, indicating the level of user engagement with interactive content. 
  2. Completion rate: The percentage of users who complete the poll or quiz from start to finish, showing how compelling and engaging the interactive content is. 

Live streaming content

  1. Peak concurrent viewers: Tracks the maximum number of viewers watching your social media live stream at one time, reflecting the popularity of the live session. 
  2. Watch time: Represents the total time spent watching the live stream, which helps measure the overall interest and effectiveness of the broadcast.  

Track all social media KPIs with one unified tool

Now that you understand the importance of tracking KPIs for social media, finding an easy and effective way to track it is important as well.

All social media platforms come with built-in analytics tools that will help you track the important social media KPIs you will need.

However, for more detailed insights, you could choose an industry-best social analytics tool.

Sprinklr Social provides an all-in-one solution to monitor and optimize your KPIs through a single, intuitive dashboard. It will help with quick decision-making, streamlining reporting and consistency in meeting your social media goals. For a detailed view, sign up for a personalized demo.

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Frequently Asked Questions

KPIs or key performance indicators for social media are quantitative tools that measure how effective a brand’s social media strategy is in achieving specific business goals. 

Choosing the right social media KPIs involves finding and tracking metrics that align with your goals, social media platform, content type, target audience and desired outcomes. 

The top 5 KPIs in social media are engagement rate, reach and impressions, click-through rate (CTR), follower growth rate and ROI. 

Apart from in-built analytics on individual social media platforms, unified third-party tools like Sprinklr can help track KPIs for social media.  

You can improve KPIs for social media by refining content strategies, understanding what your audience wants, engaging with them consistently and using targeted ads to increase reach and conversions. 

Yes, social media KPIs can vary by platform as different platforms and content types have unique features that influence the types of metrics that matter most. 

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