About Facebook Bid Multipliers
Updated
Splitting budgets and optimizing bids based on different targeting attributes leads to over-segmentation of audiences among multiple Ad Sets with relatively smaller audience pools. This reduces the effectiveness of the Facebook algorithm as well as the efficiency of the budget split.
Sprinklr Strategy Groups Smart Bidding allows you to leverage Facebook Bid Multipliers to solve this problem and improve your campaign performance/ROI through the application of Sprinklr's AI to optimize Facebook's bidding algorithm. In this article, we will guide you through the following.
What are Facebook Bid Multipliers?
Facebook Bid Multipliers enable you to maintain a nuanced bidding strategy within a single Ad Set (one target audience) and reduce the number of audience segmentation. In other words, this tool allows you to modify your Bid down by splitting your target audience into audience segments and specifying a multiplier value for those segments.
For example, you can create a single Ad Set and then use bid multipliers to modify the base Ad Set level bid by demographics, placements, age, and more of such splits.
Bid multiplier enhances Facebook's algorithm by providing guidance to Facebook on which audience segments should be prioritized from an impression delivery. If you have insight or data about valuable audience segments that Facebook doesn't have, then it makes sense to use higher Bid Multipliers on those segments.
Facebook Bid Multiplier Use Cases
CUSTOMER | WHEN TO USE BID MULTIPLIER | EXAMPLE SCENARIO |
Media Practitioner | Align with your business initiatives or any structural business setup. |
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Media Practitioner | The Lifetime Value (LTV) between audience segments varies for your campaigns. |
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Media Practitioner | You are pushed to bid for an interim goal rather than your real end goal. |
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Media Practitioner | The Incremental effect of Ads (i.e. conversions lift) varies between different audience segments. |
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Media Practitioner | Target audiences on priority based on the time elapsed since a user took a particular action on your website. |
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To Apply Facebook Bid Multiplier
Click the New Tab icon . Under the Advertising tab of Sprinklr Marketing, click Strategy Group within Optimize.
Follow the steps outlined in Strategy Group Smart Bidding. Note that you select the Channel as Facebook.
After you have manually configured the Smart Bidding details on the Strategy Group Smart Bidding window, scroll down to the Audience Bid Multiplier section and slide the Toggle icon alongside Enable Facebook Bid Multiplier.
Click Add Audience Bid Multiplier to provide the details that will help guide Facebook's optimization system to bid low/high based on business insights.
On the Configure Bid Multipliers pop-up window, provide the necessary details.
Click Submit in the bottom-right corner once you are done.
Determine Multiplier Value
You can get the most out of Bid Multipliers when they help you optimize your Ads towards Lifetime Value (LTV) or Incrementality (prioritizing conversions that happened because of the Ad and not because of just clicking or seeing the Ad).
For instance, if you know the LTV of a new customer in each of your audience segments split by Age and Gender, you can determine how much you are willing to pay for a single first purchase of a new customer (when you are targeting prospecting audiences).
| Lifetime Value (LTV) | Bid Multiplier |
Females 18-30 | 200$ | 200$ / 300$ = 67% |
Females 31-55 | 300$ | 300$ / 300$ = 100% |
Males 18-30 | 150$ | 150$ / 300$ = 50% |
Males 31-55 | 250$ | 250$ / 300$ = 83% |
Similarly, in another instance, you see the LTV for Instagram users is 20% more than Facebook when your audience segments are split between Facebook and Instagram platforms, you can determine how much you are willing to pay for conversions on each platform.
| Lifetime Value (LTV) | Bid Multiplier |
Facebook | 250$ | 250$ / 300$ = 83% |
Instagram | 300$ | 300$ / 300$ = 100% |
You can then enable these Bid Multipliers on top of your Bid Cap.
Things to Remember
The Bid Multiplier value needs to be between 10 – 100 %. If you want to bid higher for an audience segment, use smaller multipliers for other segments instead.
Only use this capability with Facebook Campaigns having either Lowest Cost with Bid Cap or Lowest Cost without Bid Cap as a bidding strategy.
Only use this capability with Facebook Campaigns having bidding Optimization Goals as either one of the following:
Offsite Conversions (any custom and standard conversion)
App Installs
Link Clicks
Landing Page Views
Lead Generation
Note that the Splits must not overlap. For example, don’t specify the age splits as 18-25 and 25-35, as those overlap each other.
Don’t use the same split again in a descendant audience segment. For example, don’t split by Age again under an Age split.
Best Practices for Using Bid Multipliers
Using Bid Multipliers might affect your Budget Pacing if your campaign delivery is limited by its budget (instead of bidding). Simply put, using multipliers (especially small) might make it harder for Facebook to evenly pace the budget spend throughout the day. Start with more conservative bid multipliers (closer to 100% than 0%) to be on the safe side and adjust accordingly if things go well.
When NOT to Use Bid Multipliers |
Do not use Bid Multipliers in the following scenarios as it can affect the performance of your Ads:
In other words, if your analysis is based on Facebook data that Facebook is already optimizing towards, then it doesn't help to use Bid Multipliers. |
Example
Let us take an example where we have defined two types of Splits as shown in the screenshot below. The top-level split is for Publisher Platform where we have selected Facebook and Instagram respectively. Under each of these platforms. we have further split based on Home Location. (You can further split based on any dimension)
Let us assume that the Bid Cap is set to $100. The following will explain how the above example will multiply bids for each audience segment:
$10 for users on Facebook, living in New York (say)
$20 for users on Facebook, living in London (say)
$30 for users on Facebook, living anywhere else in the world
$40 for users on Instagram, living in New York (say)
$50 for users on Instagram, living in London (say)
$100 for users on Instagram, living anywhere else in the world
Note: If you don't specify a multiplier value, the default of 100% will be used.
$60 for users on any other platform outside of Facebook and Instagram
Facebook Bid Multipliers Limitations
Bid Multipliers will not work on Facebook Special Ad Categories. However, if you are using Bid Multipliers on Facebook Special Ad Categories, it will not give any error but Facebook will ignore it and the bid multipliers will not have any impact.
Bid Multipliers — Setup
Terms | Description | |
Type | Select the category of audience you want to define a bid multiplier to from the following:
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Audience Segment | Select a segment of the audience type you want to define a bid multiplier to. For example, if you have selected Age as the audience type, you can set a minimum and maximum age range for which you want to bid differently. | |
Multiplier | Enter the Bid Multiplier value in % (Percentage) between 10-100 % for each split. | |
Split | Click to further break down the bid for that audience segment. This will create a tree structure for your bidding. For example, if you choose Publisher Platform as your audience type and select Facebook as your audience segment, you can further break down this audience by the Position Type and bid differently on Facebook Stories, Instagram Explore, etc. You can also define two separate Publisher Platform splits. | |
Add Another Entity | Click to add another audience segment to configure bid multipliers. You can either add an entity within an audience segment (as a descendant) or define another audience segment using the same entity (as two parent entities). |